What are the 7 Chakras? And why should you care?

You may have heard about chakras before, or you are entirely new to the subject. On this page, I am going to give you an overview of what the seven main chakras are and why you should care about them. 

The word chakra comes from Sanskrit and means ‘wheel’, the wheel of life that is always turning. The chakras are energies within our outer energy field that interact with various parts of our physical body, mind and spirit. 

We have seven main chakras located at different places around our body, and they come in seven different colours. More on that in the next section.

The Seven main Chakras

On the picture below, you will see the location of the seven main chakras and also the Aura, which you can read more about on the page about the Aura (coming soon). The Chakras and the aura are intrinsically linked with each other. What you do to one, will affect the other.

On this diagram, you can see the location of the chakras and aura

As you can see on the diagram above:

  • The red base chakra is from our waist down.
  • The orange stomach chakra surrounds our stomach area. 
  • The yellow solar plexus chakra surrounds the area between the stomach and heart. 
  • The green heart chakra is around the heart area. 
  • The blue throat and upper chest chakra are around the throat area. 
  • The indigo third eye chakra is around the brow. 
  • The violet crown chakra is just above our head. 

Every chakra will have sound, taste, smell, texture, and colour. All of that can be discovered in meditation. Also, each chakra correlates with different body parts, mental states, illnesses and so on. On some diagrams, you will see that there are also minor chakras, but I will not talk about them here. By working on the seven main ones, that will impact the rest.

Some people see the chakras as energy vortices on top of these areas, whilst others see them more as colour bands stretching around that area. The chakras do stretch around the entire body like a band, but either way, it does not matter. The important thing is that when working with them, you can sense the differences as you move your hand or a crystal across the body. 

How these chakras are operating influence our mood, personality, the way we think, feel and behave. In many ways, they are apart of the governing body that governs us as human beings. There are, of course, many elements that make us who we are, but they are essential to the process. Which is why it is pivotal that we look after them.  

When a chakra is overworked, this may lead to unprovoked anger, whilst if it is underworked, this can lead to lethargy. I will not be going into what happens when each chakra is not working optimally. I will go into detail about that somewhere else. The most important thing is that we can do something about it. 

By practicing Visual Meditation, one can balance, cleanse and ground all of the chakras at once. 

There are of course many different ways to practice Visual Meditation. The chakras does not have to be included. Conversely, in the Visual Meditation that I teach, and guide people through the chakras are essential. 

You can also heal the chakras with energy healing and crystal healing. Both are services that I offer. The purpose of meditation and healing is that when we do changes to the chakras that can have an impact on the physical body and the mind. 

You can now book Spiritual Development with me, were learning about how to balance your chakras are essential. I also offer distant energy healing, crystal healing, wellbeing coaching and past life regression.

You can book your 30min discovery session on the book me page.